Jury 2023

Dr. Anjana Desai

Dr. Anjana Desai, a renowned academician and professor Emeritus with 78 publications in various national and international journals. Dr. Desai, is true flag bearer of microbiology research in Agricultural Plant Science, Environmental Science, and Soil Science. Dr Desai served as a visiting Scientist at the University of California, San Deigo, and had DBT-Overseas Associateship at the University of Georgia, Athens. You handled various Government-sponsored research projects funded by DBT, DST, UGC, CSIR, and industry research projects of Reliance, GNFC, IPCL, ONGC etc. She was Awarded UGC Emeritus Fellowship in Microbiology 2010-11 Mam your association with Gujarat Ecology Society as BOG member and advisor to the scientific team helped us to achieve perfection in our project activities.

Dr. Shailesh Nayak:

Dr. Shailesh Nayak is currently Director of, National Institute of Advanced Studies. He was a Distinguished Scientist during 2015-2018 and Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences, Government of India, from August 2008-2015, and provided leadership for programs related to earth system sciences. He obtained Ph.D. degree in Geology from the M.S University of Baroda in 1980. He has been credited with launching many research programs related to monsoon, air-sea interaction, changing water cycle, atmospheric chemistry, coastal vulnerability, climate services, etc. with US, UK, Germany, Japan, Australia, Norway, South Korea. He had restructured meteorological activities in the country and thus improved weather and hazard-related services.

He set up the state-of-the-art tsunami warning system for the Indian Ocean in 2007 and provided tsunami advisories to the Indian Ocean rim countries. He pioneered in development of algorithms and methodologies for the application of remote sensing to the coastal and marine environment and developed services for fishery and ocean state forecast.

He is a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru, and The National Academy of Sciences, India. He was awarded Honorary Doctor of Science by Andhra University in 2011, Assam University in 2013, and Amity University in 2015. He was conferred the prestigious ISC Vikram Sarabhai Memorial Award 2012 as well as the Bhaskara Award for 2009, Fellowship of the International Society of Photogrammetry & Remote Sensing (ISPRS) and Elected Member of the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) for his outstanding contributions in remote sensing and GIS. He has published about 150 papers in peer-reviewed journals.

Mr. Girish Sohani

Mr. Girish Sohani, Principal Advisor and Trustee, BAIF Development Research Foundation (BAIF); Director, Maharashtra Knowledge Corporation Ltd (MKCL); Member, RGSTC, GoM; Member, Governing Council, BSE Social Stock Exchange. He has over 40 years of experience in Natural Resource Management and Rural livelihoods. Worked on Village Production Systems, Appropriate Technology, Agribusiness, and nurturing Farmer Producer Organisations. Special involvement in work on Sustainable Development, Circular Economy, and Interdisciplinary Programme Management.